Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Escort Live! > Escort Live! for Android

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old July 17th, 2017
flylow7f39 flylow7f39 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,776
Default

Last week the version of Google Play Services showing on my phone was 11.3.00.

Beta version when I downloaded was 11.3.01. Current non-beta version showing on my phone is 11.3.02. Version number varies with device so the version on your phone may be different than on mine.

Last edited by flylow7f39; July 17th, 2017 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old August 2nd, 2017
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 94
Default

We'll see if anything becomes of it, but this morning I had a hiccup right after EL connected to my phone. Just a couple seconds after reattempting to center the map before it was all good.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old August 2nd, 2017
RS1990 RS1990 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GumbyDammit223 View Post
We'll see if anything becomes of it, but this morning I had a hiccup right after EL connected to my phone. Just a couple seconds after reattempting to center the map before it was all good.
I get the same thing each time I start my car. The first thing that I have to do is zoom in (seriously, let's get an update to keep our zoom settings, it's been years that this has been an issue) and then I hit re-center. At that point, it gets the error, but then a little while later (less than a min I would guess) it works again and GPS is fine.

Overall, it still seems that it's "fixed," I just don't don't know exactly why or what brought it back.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old August 2nd, 2017
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 5,911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RS1990 View Post
I get the same thing each time I start my car. The first thing that I have to do is zoom in (seriously, let's get an update to keep our zoom settings, it's been years that this has been an issue) and then I hit re-center. At that point, it gets the error, but then a little while later (less than a min I would guess) it works again and GPS is fine.

Overall, it still seems that it's "fixed," I just don't don't know exactly why or what brought it back.
Since there have been no changes in the app itself, it must somehow be related to the installed version of Android OS. That's the only plausible explanation.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Thinkware F750 (backup: DOD LS430W)
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old August 3rd, 2017
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 94
Default

I agree. I just had an OS update push by Verizon on Monday(?) so I guess there were repercussions. And, verified yesterday afternoon when leaving work that the delay was still there and still there this morning.

Infuriating. Something is working well and they have to f-with it and break it - again.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old August 28th, 2017
kovach kovach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Samsung S8 Active
AT&T
Android 7.0

When screen goes off, so does GPS resulting in no speed limit display (though it is still white so assuming BT working), nor I suspect Live reports to the detector.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old September 10th, 2017
kovach kovach is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kovach View Post
Samsung S8 Active
AT&T
Android 7.0

When screen goes off, so does GPS resulting in no speed limit display (though it is still white so assuming BT working), nor I suspect Live reports to the detector.
Ok, that does not seem to be the case as Waze works just fine.

I get one of two things happen with EL when screen is off:

1) Speed limit disappears and apparently so does tracking as when I turn the screen back on it suddenly appears, and the dot on the map quickly jumps to where I'm at

2) Sometimes the speed limit gets stuck, I'll get off the highway and it'll still say 70 when I'm on a 35; soon as I turn the screen on it changes to 35 and again the dot jumps on the map to my current location.

I've played with a lot of settings to allow it to bypass all data restrictions like data saver and restrictions on background data so not sure what it could be.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old September 12th, 2017
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 94
Default

I've noticed lately (since the recent 360 FW up(down)grade) that the amount of time the 360 needs to begin displaying my speed has increased. Before it seemed to take under a minute to be in sync with EL while now it's several minutes. I can't say exactly how long it takes, but before, it would show my speed before I left my apartment's parking lot. Now I'm a block or so away before it displays anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
android, escort live, gps

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2017 Escort Inc.