Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360c

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
adamcb adamcb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Default FW Update v.1.0 completely bricked my new detector

Hello,

Pretty frustrated new owner here. I tried to update my detector (that I purchased end of July 2019) to the new firmware (v.1.10) today after it notified me on-screen. Device has been working great for the past month and a half.

Update went thru the "'preparing" and "installing" cycle got into a loop where it said it was erasing 1/2 a file and then power cycling. It did this for well over 30 minutes.

So before I unplugged I called support and Dominique had me download Detector Tools onto my Mac and re-run the firmware update there. It appeared to work. Appeared...

But when we went to plug it into the car power, it went into the same FIRMWARE UPDATE - ERASING 1/2 PROGRAMMING 1/2 loop. Nothing could get it out.

So, I now have a 2 month old $650 brick. That was working fine before the update attempt. I'm heading on a cross-country trip to Kansas on Monday morning. Dominique was as helpful as he could be, but they would not do an exchange or anything before we heard from the engineers.

So frustrated. Updates should just work. Period. And when they don't work, you should be able to use Defender Tools (or something like that) to reset them.

Now (at best) I will send my two-month old new detector in and wait several weeks for a repair. It is what it is, but for $650 my expectations are higher. Am I being unreasonable?

Does anyone know anything else I can try? Any other factory update secrets (other than the standard one)? I don't have the funds to go out and buy another detector for this 12-hour drive on Monday. And nothing to lose as this one is already bricked.

Adam

Last edited by adamcb; 3 Weeks Ago at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
The Only Sarge's Avatar
The Only Sarge The Only Sarge is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: South Texas
Posts: 152
Default

Factory reset it Adam.
__________________
7 decades of hauling butt...................
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,492
Default

I successfully updated my 360c with firmware v1.10. Kindly say how you updated yours. I haven't read any issues on the forum.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
mtime mtime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 60
Default

It sounds like you first updated to V1.10 using Mac Detector Tools, then when you plugged into your vehicle the detector tried to auto update again via WIFI. Perhaps this wifi update stopped partway through and got corrupted. I would try the factory reset as previously suggested and/or connect your detector to your Mac and do a manual firmware install.
Hopefully that will get your detector working again. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
adamcb adamcb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the reply here. Here's the order of what happened:

1) I got the notification on the detector of a FW update (yes/no) via wifi in my garage;
2) I selected yes (+) and it proceeded to go thru the preparing/installing;
3) About 20-30 minutes in, it began to cycle on an "erasing 1/2" "programming 1/2" loop, with a power cycle each time. Each time it would come up on-screen with FIRMWARE UPDATE and then this loop;
4) I let it do this for about another 30 or so minutes, not wanting to unplug or reset (knowing you shouldn't mess with a FW update.)
5) I called Escort support. We tried the MRK-BRT and MRK-BRT-POWER resets but it wouldn't do anything. The screen kept up with its loop mentioned in #3 no matter what we pressed.
6) We unplugged/replugged and cycled, wouldn't get out of the loop;
7) Came inside and tried to update FW with Detector Tools via USB. It appeared to work and said successful, but when we went back to DC power - same FIRMWARE UPDATE Erasing 1/2 loop.

So, if there is "another" factory reset (other than MRK-BRT-Power), please let me know - willing to try anything.

Appreciate everyone's help. Escort has sent me a label to send it back for repair, but that won't help me for my cross-country trip on Monday. Detector was working great before the 1.10 update attempt.

Adam

Last edited by adamcb; 3 Weeks Ago at 07:59 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,691
Default

You should send it back.
It sounds like it's stuck on the install. If DT successfully downloaded the new firmware onto the RD, it still requires the unit be plugged into 12 volts to complete/finalize the installation. It looks like that last step is looped as it should only take seconds at that point.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.