Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old October 12th, 2017
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,957
Default

You must use Detector Tools for Windows to install this update. The Mac version will not update the bluetooth chip.

You do not need to use Update All to perform this update (although doing so will cause no harm). If you do not use Update All then the update process will go much faster.

The firmware version number will not change with this update.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or you can fill out a repair form and we will contact you.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 12th, 2017
jmags20 jmags20 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 15
Default

First I was told it was an Apple issue, now i'm told it was resolved with a firmware update but I need a PC in order to make the update work?

Are you kidding me?

And to top it off it will take "Some Time" before the Mac tool is updated to support this firmware update. Unreal!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 12th, 2017
mdlinkous mdlinkous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 275
Default

So this issue affects iPhones but the fix requires a PC??? Unreal. I guess some of us will keep waiting.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old October 12th, 2017
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmags20 View Post
First I was told it was an Apple issue, now i'm told it was resolved with a firmware update but I need a PC in order to make the update work?

Are you kidding me?

And to top it off it will take "Some Time" before the Mac tool is updated to support this firmware update. Unreal!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdlinkous View Post
So this issue affects iPhones but the fix requires a PC??? Unreal. I guess some of us will keep waiting.
Fellows, I understand. I'm one of the affected users myself, owning both a Max 2 and a Max 360. I'm personally confident that this absolutely is an Apple issue, but Escort couldn't wait for Apple to fix the issue; instead, Escort found a work-around because this was a very high priority.

In my case, I have a MacBook Pro installed with BootCamp (which is free), running Windows 10. I can easily boot into either operating system. Someone can also run Parallels (or Fusion). You'll need to have access to a Windows registration key, but you can download a Windows ISO file directly from Microsoft.

I don't know how long it will take for a Mac version of Detector Tools be be released, but in the meantime, I'll offer a few other suggestions that you might want to consider:
  • Find a friend with a Windows system, download DT and update the detector.
  • Access a computer at an institution (school, library, etc.) or one at a hotel. Get DT (if allowed) and then update your detector.
  • Perhaps ask for permission at your work to download Detector Tools
  • Contact Escort Support and ask if they would update the firmware for you; you'd have to be without your detector for a bit, but it would come back with the latest firmware.

Guys, I'm not an Escort employee. I'm just a user here who helps moderate the forum. But I'm also a Mac user, so I'm just trying to help. There have always been gaps between the releases & update of Windows apps vs Apple. I have faith that Escort will be introducing an updated Mac version, but I don't know how soon it will be. But consider these ideas, if you think any of them can help.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old October 14th, 2017
Corneileous Corneileous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 234
Default

Thank you Escort! Just verified that the Bluetooth fix works and Iím assuming that I was supposed to actually pair up the 360 to my iPhone by means of through Escort Live like I did with the Redline EX, because, thatís what I did. I didnít go through my iPhoneís Bluetooth settings to pair up. All is did was open up Escort Live, click on the settings, devices and my max 360 popped up. Then it showed it was connected. Exited out of all that, it the little speed limit icon popped up on the display.

Now as far as whether or not I have to open up Escort live each time to fully connect to my 360 after the Bluetooth icon on the Detector shows up, or not, that I donít know but if I do, thatís fine. Iím just glad I donít have to go through the whole un-pairing and re-pairing process over and over again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 14th, 2017
PhilP PhilP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Corneileous View Post
T
Now as far as whether or not I have to open up Escort live each time to fully connect to my 360 after the Bluetooth icon on the Detector shows up, or not, that I donít know but if I do, thatís fine.
Shouldn't have to.


I found the fix worked with mine as well. Looks like this one's been solved. So, how long is it going to take for the tantrum throwers to apologize to Escort for their whining about how Escort doesn't care? Not holding my breath.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 14th, 2017
DJ92009 DJ92009 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 6
Default

So... for Mac users... we are out of luck?!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 14th, 2017
johns331 johns331 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 129
Default

I'm not using IOS 11, because my iphone is too old. Will this update cause problems with my older operating system?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 14th, 2017
Corneileous Corneileous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ92009 View Post
So... for Mac users... we are out of luck?!


Youíll just have to do like what TBX said in his post #14 and put a version of Windows on your Mac.

I plan on getting a MacBook Pro one if these days and Iím gonna have to do that if I want to be able to update a couple of devices I own that arenít compatible with Mac computers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old October 14th, 2017
Corneileous Corneileous is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johns331 View Post
I'm not using IOS 11, because my iphone is too old. Will this update cause problems with my older operating system?


How old is your phone? Better yet, what iPhone are you using? I was under the understanding that every version of iOS Apple came out with was supposed to work with every iPhone. Maybe I was wrong. Maybe itís time ya got caught up with modern technology....😎


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2018 Escort Inc.