Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 14th, 2017
BD-AMG BD-AMG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Default Voltage Display

After spending a few weeks with the 360, Iím very happy with the performance and really like the auto-lockout feature. Itís quite an upgrade from my Passport SRX! It does seem odd to me that if you choose to turn off the speed display (I donít need anyone in the car knowing how fast Iím going!) that you get a voltage display. Does anyone care what their voltage levels are on a daily basis? That seems more like a troubleshooting value that you would get from some sub-menu.

I would prefer that this would display whether or not your Bluetooth connection was active. I typically just leave Escort Live turned on on my phone but am never sure if they are connected unless I pick up my phone and check. I know that it flashes the Bluetooth symbol when it starts up but I usually miss that. Another option would be to display if you currently have a GPS lock. Either of these would be more beneficial (especially the Bluetooth connection) to me than the voltage.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 14th, 2017
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,365
Default

We're glad that you are enjoying your Max 360!

The left-most portion of the display is only for showing if you have a bluetooth connection or not. On page 7 of the quick reference guide that came with your Max 360:



So if you see the Over Speed Indicator then your phone is not paired to your detector.

If you see the bluetooth icon then it is paired to your phone but Escort Live is not active.

If you see the speed limit sign then your detector is communicating with Escort Live.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 14th, 2017
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,514
Default

The voltage display comes in handy a couple of times a year to check battery voltage and alternator output, plus to verify the input voltage of a hardwire or coiled cord in case one suspects an electrical supply problem, especially if it's intermittent.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 14th, 2017
BD-AMG BD-AMG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Excellent! I checked it out and it works just as you described. Thanks much, I'm slowly figuring all the bells and whistles out!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 15th, 2017
Carbuff2's Avatar
Carbuff2 Carbuff2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Garden State
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BD-AMG View Post
Does anyone care what their voltage levels are on a daily basis?
You wouldn't ask that question if you grew up owning old British cars!
__________________
ABH in Scenic NJ

Passport MAX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 15th, 2017
BD-AMG BD-AMG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 14
Default

Ha!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 3rd, 2018
MattyLada MattyLada is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Hi...i created a voltage display for myself. The cheapest A to D converter when you have a SoC like the RPi is set a GPIO to be pulse width modulated, smooth this to a DC voltage. Send that to one input and the battery voltage to a comparator. So the software ramps up the voltage from the GPIO pin by varying the mark/space ratio. While doing this it monitors the output from the comparator,when it changes you know that the Vout from your GPIO is the same as the voltage from the battery.

surface mount pcb assembly

Last edited by MattyLada; July 31st, 2018 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 3rd, 2018
evanborkow evanborkow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Lower Hudson Valley, NY
Posts: 8
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattyLada View Post
Hi...i created a voltage display for myself. The cheapest A to D converter when you have a SoC like the RPi is set a GPIO to be pulse width modulated, smooth this to a DC voltage. Send that to one input and the battery voltage to a comparator. So the software ramps up the voltage from the GPIO pin by varying the mark/space ratio. While doing this it monitors the output from the comparator,when it changes you know that the Vout from your GPIO is the same as the voltage from the battery.
Yeah, what he said.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2018 Escort Inc.