Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360c

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 20th, 2017
Stoopstroop Stoopstroop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 118
Default The Max 360c locked up again today.

I believe I may have a idea of why the 360 and 360c are locking up. I was at a gas station today where a LEO was getting donuts running C/O K 24.175. I came out started my truck and after the 30 second start up period it blared K alert of course. I reached up to mute it but as I drove off I noticed I have a 1 with grayed out front and rear full alerts. It would not clear until I did a power off. The speedo however was still working. Kinda scary if it ever locks up with just the highway icon on the screen. One would never know your detector is not on.

I "believe" it it being caused by K band being over driven. Today the LEO was at close range/50 yards when it happened. The other time it was in a heavy K area with several alarms and auto doors.

Everything else is working great. Arrows seem better than the original 360, off axis on K and Ka seem improved and for sure BSM filtering is better.

I hope Escort will acknowledges this is an issue and get it fixed. Before anyone asks me to send it in for service I would suggest escort solves the problem on their own. They can simulate mine and the other videos showing lockups and work on the issue in house.

Otherwise it is to expensive in my opinion but so far a great detector.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 20th, 2017
V0rtex V0rtex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 842
Default

I think you may be onto something regarding the overdriving issue. I was messing with this again the other day with the Max360 in another room and the radar gun only registering at about half power, and I couldn't recreate the issue after a good 15-20 min of testing.

When I have had it happen, the radar gun was in the same room.

I was going to say something about it earlier, but our posts discussing the issue were deleted (they were starting to go off-topic in that particular thread, but still...) and so it felt like I was wasting my time with trying to help Escort troubleshoot.

In any event, given that you've seen this issue happen in real life, just like several others have, hopefully Escort is able to address it quickly, and hopefully the information we provide allows Escort to do it without us having to send in our detectors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2017
Stoopstroop Stoopstroop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V0rtex View Post
In any event, given that you've seen this issue happen in real life, just like several others have, hopefully Escort is able to address it quickly, and hopefully the information we provide allows Escort to do it without us having to send in our detectors.
Agreed and thank you!

At least if/when they do get it fixed we can update it without taking it out of the truck! ha ha
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 21st, 2017
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,379
Default

Thank you for the information!
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 21st, 2017
BagNDrag's Avatar
BagNDrag BagNDrag is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Salt Lake City, Ut
Posts: 501
Default

Hi Larry,

I experienced a similar hang with V1.6 on my Max360 today. I PMd you the details.

No too much info to help, but letting you know of another data point.

I was at a costco this morning and the detector started to alert to 2 locked out k band signals. It never showed the frequency, arrow direction, or strength. Just the count and strength background bars. (I only know it was K band because of how often I'm in that same spot getting the same alerts). The GPS speed continued to work, so I know the unit wasn't locked, just hung at the display and wouldn't alert anymore to signals. I drove by known lockout spots and nothing ever alerted in this state.

-Mark
__________________
- 2014 Mustang Shelby Conv - 662 bhp 631 tq
- Max 360 - Software Version 1.8
- Carbon Fiber Passport Max - Software Version 1.12
- Passport - 1/3/4 ON / RDR Off - Software Version 1.4
- Redline - 2/5/6/8 ON / RDR Off
- Passport SC55 (Redline Savvy and Dual Display)!
- Wife - Max 360 - Software Version 1.8
- Escort Live 2.1.44 - iPhone X - iOS 12


Past CMs
- 9500ix Race Edition (Sold)
- 9500ix Blue (Sold)
- 2 V1s (Sold)
- Various Uniden / Whistler in the past
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 21st, 2017
Stoopstroop Stoopstroop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BagNDrag View Post
I was at a costco this morning and the detector started to alert to 2 locked out k band signals. It never showed the frequency, arrow direction, or strength. Just the count and strength background bars. (I only know it was K band because of how often I'm in that same spot getting the same alerts). The GPS speed continued to work, so I know the unit wasn't locked, just hung at the display and wouldn't alert anymore to signals. I drove by known lockout spots and nothing ever alerted in this state.

-Mark
Very similar to my first lockup on my 360c.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 22nd, 2017
Stoopstroop Stoopstroop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 118
Default

Is this being looked into for a fix? If so, do we have any sort of timeframe?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 22nd, 2017
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,379
Default

We are looking into it. There is no timeframe available yet on a fix.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 22nd, 2017
Stoopstroop Stoopstroop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscortRadar View Post
We are looking into it. There is no timeframe available yet on a fix.
Great! It is a really good all around machine if not for this issue. There are multiple people reporting it now. Here is the info from another gentleman. Hope this can help to get it resolved quickly.

My 2 day old 360c locked up yesterday, but it didn't get the grayed out bars. It started with several K band door openers were alerting and in the middle of it I got an alert to a Ka band with a red arrow to the front. As I pulled off from the stop light the Ka disappeared and only one K band stayed on alerting to a blue area to my front with two bars of strength. After driving two miles I noticed it didn't change so I made a right turn and headed down another road for 3 miles. It didn't beep at all but the speed was still displaying and changing. It had lost it's connection to Escort Live and was showing the over-speed alert instead of the speed limit. I turned the detector off and then back on and the K band alert disappeared and now I had an Bluetooth icon showing. I looked in my phone and there wasn't any blue tooth connections showing to connect to, so I assume it was connected to Bluetooth but not pulling any data. Right after that I got an Ka alert on 35.5 that was verified by police presence. As I pulled into the driveway at home the speed limit started showing again, so I am assuming it connected to my WiFi at that point. I checked the history log and it showed that the Escort live had shut down much earlier and had stopped recording K band alerts, which would have been about 10 minutes prior to the lockup.

I have no clue if the Escort Live disconnect had anything to do with the lockup, but it may be possible. At the time the lockup occurred I had the impression that the display section had entered an "endless loop" and had no error codes that would have allowed it to recover. Seems like a software issue to me and that Escort hasn't been able to figure out where to look for it since this started happening in the Max 360.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 22nd, 2017
kasher1979's Avatar
kasher1979 kasher1979 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 979
Default

WOw. Yea this sounds like a project for engineers to get on and stay on until they figure it out. It appears that more people are having trouble with this than we had originally thought. Must be software glitch. I haven't seen this happen with any of my units. There are SO many variables. Could be phone type, environment you drive in, etc. Good luck to Escort Engineers with this one. But hopefully we can all keep reporting our findings and data and that will help them as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.