Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Detector Accessories > Power Cords

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 2nd, 2017
ckelly33 ckelly33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Default SmartCord - is the in-line white thing a fuse?

I traded vehicles and the salesman was helping me to remove my smartcord. I know he used a little force when pulling out the cord. I don't recall if it had the little in-line white thing that I see on the new ones - maybe mine had it or maybe it is for newer cord versions BUT either way it doesn't have it now (I actually assume that it did as one side of the cord is shorter than the other)

Here's what I have the power part of the cord (black w red stripe) is 34 inches. The solid black (ground) is 45 inches. No white (fuse?) on the line at all.

Is this safe to use or do I need to order another?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 3rd, 2017
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15,184
Default

You need the inline fuse. Fuses are present in order to prevent your car from burning up should the cable get shorted to ground (your car's chassis).
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 3rd, 2017
ckelly33 ckelly33 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks. When I go to install, it looks like in my new truck my new smart cord may be a little short. Is it ok to splice an extension on the end of the hot wire?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 3rd, 2017
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 5,960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly33 View Post
Thanks. When I go to install, it looks like in my new truck my new smart cord may be a little short. Is it ok to splice an extension on the end of the hot wire?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
Yes. I had to do the same thing a couple years back.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Thinkware F750 (backup: DOD LS430W)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 3rd, 2017
BubbaJonesDawgBoy BubbaJonesDawgBoy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Hopefully the power-feed-end of your old cord in the vehicle you traded is tied to a fused circuit or whoever buys your old car may smoke the electrical system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2017 Escort Inc.