Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Detector Accessories > Power Cords

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 28th, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,700
Default Direct Wire Cord Fuse Specs

Is there a different fuse amperage used in current direct wire power cords for the 360/360c vs the old 9500ix?

I ask this because my 360c had a loose connection at the RJ11 jack and blew the 2 Amp fuse I found in my power direct wire power cord. I just got to thinking that this cord may be from my older 9500ix and I know the MAX line draws quit a bit more current than the 9500ix. So, has the fuse size changed over the years, and, what amperage fuse should be used with a MAX in the direct wire cord?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 29th, 2018
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
Is there a different fuse amperage used in current direct wire power cords for the 360/360c vs the old 9500ix?

I ask this because my 360c had a loose connection at the RJ11 jack and blew the 2 Amp fuse I found in my power direct wire power cord. I just got to thinking that this cord may be from my older 9500ix and I know the MAX line draws quit a bit more current than the 9500ix. So, has the fuse size changed over the years, and, what amperage fuse should be used with a MAX in the direct wire cord?
No, the wiring spec are exactly the same. My car has a direct wire originally installed for a 9500ix, and I use the same DW setup with my Redline EX and mu 360c. The wiring hasn't changed.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Escort M1 and Thinkware F750
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 29th, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBNTX View Post
No, the wiring spec are exactly the same. My car has a direct wire originally installed for a 9500ix, and I use the same DW setup with my Redline EX and mu 360c. The wiring hasn't changed.
Yes. I have been doing the exact same as you, using a 9500ix direct wire cord for a 360c.
I was just wondering if the recommended in-line fuse size may have been upped a bit over the years due to the additional current draw by the MAX. And, since my 360c just blew the 2 amp fuse due to a loose RJ11 wire at its junction point.

As I recall, the old 9500ix 120 volt ac wall adapters did not supply sufficient current for the MAX when it came out and a more powerful one was offered, so I was just wondering if Escort may have increased the 2 amp fuse in its current hard wire in-line fuse holder since introducing the MAX line due to its increased power needs.

Last edited by poolmon; November 29th, 2018 at 11:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 30th, 2018
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 141
Default

Two amps is a LOT of current for a small, passive, electronic device! You can vaporize SM traces pretty quick with that type of current. I would definitely stick with the originally spec'd amperage fuse.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 3rd, 2018
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is online now
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,922
Default

We continue to use 2A fuses. If it is blowing the 2A fuse then something is wrong requiring the detector and/or direct wire to be serviced.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or you can fill out a repair form and we will contact you.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 3rd, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,700
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscortRadar View Post
We continue to use 2A fuses. If it is blowing the 2A fuse then something is wrong requiring the detector and/or direct wire to be serviced.
As I mentioned in the original post, the blown fuse was caused by the fact that one of the direct-wire power wires became loose at the plastic RJ11 connector due to the sticky cup coming detached (with the WX change) and the heavy MAX 360c dangling from the power cord pulling on the wire.

The loose wire cause an intermittent rapid on/off power cycle blowing the fuse. I replaced both the RJ11 connector and the fuse and it works fine now. I was just inquiring whether the direct wire cord that came out 10+ years ago with a 2 amp fuse still used a 2 amp fuse with the more power demanding MAX line. Per your response, that is the still case.

Thanks

Last edited by poolmon; December 3rd, 2018 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.