Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > General > General Detector

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 5th, 2017
poolmon poolmon is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,278
Default Ka Fixed Speed Cameras Appear

Just ran across 2 separate fixed/pole mounted Ka speed cameras in Rockville, MD. Manual lockout capability of Ka would be nice.

I know this has been mentioned before but this is the first encounter with fixed Ka cameras. Previously it was just a handful of portable "your speed is" signs.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
DetectorDan DetectorDan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 655
Default

Wow. Just saw this. I've been off the forums for a week or so. I live and work in Howard county and rarely get out of Howard (using my DD). I haven't seen these Ka cams yet on my travels but I wonder if they'll start appearing in neighboring counties.

Aren't we lucky to be living in Maryland with all the automated speed enforcement?

Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
btwelch btwelch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Default Ka "your speed is" signs

I literally just came on here on the advice of the "chat help" person because of this. There are several fixed "your speed is" signs near me that operate on Ka and I HATE that I can't block them. How do we request that functionality be added?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
Butcher318 Butcher318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,684
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btwelch View Post
I literally just came on here on the advice of the "chat help" person because of this. There are several fixed "your speed is" signs near me that operate on Ka and I HATE that I can't block them. How do we request that functionality be added?
You might try starting a new thread. This thread is talking about new fixed KA speed cams that issue a ticket. I think you are talking about those portable courtesy signs that tell you what your speed is. To date there are no manual lockouts on KA with all Escort detectors. Not sure but I don't believe any company does this, i will have to check.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
BelsCortFan's Avatar
BelsCortFan BelsCortFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: IN the Back of your Mind
Posts: 1,609
Default

Nearly 100% of the time, Ka band is actual police radar, be it fixed speed cam in MD or LEO. Why would you ever want to Truelock out a valid Ka alert??
__________________
Stir-O >Redline-O>RX65 S7>Redline EX =Max 360
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
GumbyDammit223 GumbyDammit223 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 92
Default

Since it's just software, how about adding a switch to enable lockouts by band? Then, it's user-configurable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
poolmon poolmon is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BelsCortFan View Post
Nearly 100% of the time, Ka band is actual police radar, be it fixed speed cam in MD or LEO. Why would you ever want to Truelock out a valid Ka alert??
There are more and more cameras and speed signs using Ka. There needs to be a manual lockout at least, so that the user has a choice, just as they do now with manual laser lockouts. Yes there are manual laser lockouts so why not Ka?

I have numerous laser lockouts and rely on the RD's GPS voice warnings so I don't get both. We are not advocating for AutoLearn on Ka, just an informed user-added manual lockout based upon the user's location which may have numerous Ka signals not affiliated with police radar. Everyone has different driving needs based upon their location, so why not give them a simple choice that does not impact others, especially if it's easily implementable as an added feature?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1 Week Ago
FisherPete's Avatar
FisherPete FisherPete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butcher318 View Post
... This thread is talking about new fixed KA speed cams that issue a ticket...
Automated or manually operated, if there's a risk of a ticket I want a warning!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1 Week Ago
poolmon poolmon is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,278
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FisherPete View Post
Automated or manually operated, if there's a risk of a ticket I want a warning!
There is a warning, it's a GPS voice warning. The band's beep warning is redundant and annoying if you have to pass these things every day on your commute.

Anyone can run their RD in highway mode, all bands enabled, with TRS off, CruiseAlert off and GPS/AutoLearn disabled for maximum alert capability. Why not allow other users the option to tailor their RD's manually to their own driving jurisdictions if it affects no one else other than those in need of additional filtering due to the specific conditions their driving area?

Also, when you get both a GPS voice warning and band beep warning at the same time from the same source. they tend to step on each other, confusing the issue, especially when you add in latch time .

Last edited by poolmon; 1 Week Ago at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2017 Escort Inc.