Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > Detector Tools & Detector Tools Pro

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old August 29th, 2020
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,879
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtime View Post
Point of clarification regarding the above. Using DTP (Windows), the above comments apply.
Using DT (Mac), there is a single button for updating both in one step. First, the latest firmware is installed, followed by merging the latest Defender file. Upon completion, you are instructed to power up the RD to apply the firmware.
That is interesting. I have not used the MAC Software (I think TBNTX is the expert on the MAC side as well as Windows). What is interesting is that on the Windows DT Pro, if you install the Software first, it instructs you to power up 12 volts before updating the Database. Seems to be the reverse of the order MAC is indicating. Does the MAC software allow you to select an update all software as well as a simple update software patch? The difference between sequencing on Windows vs MAC seems to be incongruous. It would be nice if Escort could clarify for us.

Last edited by poolmon; August 29th, 2020 at 10:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old August 30th, 2020
mtime mtime is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
That is interesting. I have not used the MAC Software (I think TBNTX is the expert on the MAC side as well as Windows). What is interesting is that on the Windows DT Pro, if you install the Software first, it instructs you to power up 12 volts before updating the Database. Seems to be the reverse of the order MAC is indicating. Does the MAC software allow you to select an update all software as well as a simple update software patch? The difference between sequencing on Windows vs MAC seems to be incongruous. It would be nice if Escort could clarify for us.
In the Mac version, the single button updates both and if the firmware is already current, asks whether you wish to overwrite the current firmware. Also, There is an advanced tab whereby you can select individually whether to update firmware separately or database separately.

In the Win version (as you know), there are individual buttons for updating firmware and database. Under the device tab, there is an "Update All Software"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.