Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old October 9th, 2018
JFJr's Avatar
JFJr JFJr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasher1979 View Post
The more I run with auto the more I am just not down with the Highway thing anymore. Auto rules. Unless you have K band instant on in your area I say ditch Highway mode and set to auto. My 360 now only has 1 or 2 k false alerts on the expressway on my whole trip. That is not bad. And by the time it alerts you can easily identify the source. I'm just thrilled with auto. As I said before I can't believe I've been running in Highway mode when it's been totally unnecessary to do so.
I use Auto all the time with great results. The sensitivity increases with speed, too, and is at max at interstate speeds.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old October 10th, 2018
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,379
Default

Auto sensitivity mode is awesome. It is what I prefer.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
daves2015ChevVolt daves2015ChevVolt is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFJr View Post
I use Auto all the time with great results. The sensitivity increases with speed, too, and is at max at interstate speeds.
The problem with this is *at least for me* is that the Max360 doesn't always give accurate speed readings, either from improper satellite connection/readings, or excessive cloud cover etc. In Auto mode, I've been driving down the highway at speed, the Max showing my speed as "--" (blank) in that instance the max acted as if I was stopped and not moving - so I had extremely limited radar detection range, and minimum alert to a LEO. From that point on I've always operated the max in highway mode for maximum detection range.

I think "highway" is misleading, and should be changed to read/indicate "Max Range" or "Max Sensitivity."

Just be aware that when operating in "auto" mode, you are relying on the Max360 to accurately track your speed and make appropriate changes to radar detection sensitivity.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves2015ChevVolt View Post
The problem with this is *at least for me* is that the Max360 doesn't always give accurate speed readings, either from improper satellite connection/readings, or excessive cloud cover etc. In Auto mode, I've been driving down the highway at speed, the Max showing my speed as "--" (blank) in that instance the max acted as if I was stopped and not moving - so I had extremely limited radar detection range, and minimum alert to a LEO. From that point on I've always operated the max in highway mode for maximum detection range.

I think "highway" is misleading, and should be changed to read/indicate "Max Range" or "Max Sensitivity."

Just be aware that when operating in "auto" mode, you are relying on the Max360 to accurately track your speed and make appropriate changes to radar detection sensitivity.
I think that there may be a fail safe implemented such that without a GPS signal (blank) sensitivity remains at maximum. Escort will have to confirm this however
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
radarcc radarcc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves2015ChevVolt View Post
the Max showing my speed as "--" (blank)
The 360 will either show no numbers or it will display 0 - 99 (maybe into triple digits but have not gone that fast).

The "--" you are seeing is the speed limit data when connected to EL, if EL does not know the speed limit is shows those dashes. Your current speed will be displayed next to that.

Doing some digging here recently there was a post where the moderator said that even in the Auto mode it will not be as sensitive as it will be in highway no matter the speed.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,514
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radarcc View Post
.Doing some digging here recently there was a post where the moderator said that even in the Auto mode it will not be as sensitive as it will be in highway no matter the speed.
As I best recall the sensitivity on Auto is the same at highway speeds as Highway, but there is a slight built in delay when on Auto so that reduces its overall response time a bit as compared to Highway.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,379
Default

Our detectors never show dashes as the speed. The speed limit area will show this if there is no speed limit data available for the road that you are traveling on. Auto modes do not use the speed limit to adjust sensitivity. They use your current speed.

If it does not have GPS acquisition, if the speed area of the display is blank or shows "GPS Error", then the Auto modes resort to maximum sensitivity levels. Note that in any Auto mode, maximum detection range is going to be slightly less on X and K bands than when in Highway mode. This is true for all MAX detectors.

Ka and Laser are always at maximum range regardless of the sensitivity mode selected.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
Butcher318 Butcher318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daves2015ChevVolt View Post
The problem with this is *at least for me* is that the Max360 doesn't always give accurate speed readings, either from improper satellite connection/readings, or excessive cloud cover etc. In Auto mode, I've been driving down the highway at speed, the Max showing my speed as "--" (blank) in that instance the max acted as if I was stopped and not moving - so I had extremely limited radar detection range, and minimum alert to a LEO. From that point on I've always operated the max in highway mode for maximum detection range.

I think "highway" is misleading, and should be changed to read/indicate "Max Range" or "Max Sensitivity."

Just be aware that when operating in "auto" mode, you are relying on the Max360 to accurately track your speed and make appropriate changes to radar detection sensitivity.
For the last 40 years of detectors being made it has always been understood that highway mode means max range. Escorts last post would suggest that in fact your 360 will not act in the manner you claimed in your post when there is no speed limit data.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
PHILBERT PHILBERT is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 27
Default

I run HIGHWAY all the time because I want the maximum range all the time. Since I have confirmed K band is still in use by the SO in my local county, as well as some small towns I have encountered it in with confirmed sightings, I want all the warning range I can get. Besides, the IVT / CAS / BSM filtering is now so good on the MAX series that there is no penalty for staying in HIGHWAY mode. The door sensors will get locked out, either by automatic learning or manual teaching, so that will keep things quiet.

Maybe if I took a long highway trip through areas I don't have door lockouts saved for, AUTO might work well if I took it easy through small towns. That might be a trade-off I would be willing to lose some K band range on while driving slower than highway speed.

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
kasher1979's Avatar
kasher1979 kasher1979 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 979
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHILBERT View Post
I run HIGHWAY all the time because I want the maximum range all the time. Since I have confirmed K band is still in use by the SO in my local county, as well as some small towns I have encountered it in with confirmed sightings, I want all the warning range I can get. Besides, the IVT / CAS / BSM filtering is now so good on the MAX series that there is no penalty for staying in HIGHWAY mode. The door sensors will get locked out, either by automatic learning or manual teaching, so that will keep things quiet.

Maybe if I took a long highway trip through areas I don't have door lockouts saved for, AUTO might work well if I took it easy through small towns. That might be a trade-off I would be willing to lose some K band range on while driving slower than highway speed.

Phil
I used to run in HWY mode 24/7 also but honestly I like auto better. When you are up to speeds where you need protection the sensitivity should be fine.... It's when you're driving slower and don't want to know or need to know where auto does a good job with filtering out junk.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.