Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > MAX 360c

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 12th, 2019
user05 user05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default Locking real signals on its own

Police in my area still use K band intensively, lately what happens, if I meet police car in the same area with false K band already locked, real signal gets locked as well without any warning. The only way to confirm that is to look at the display and see another full blast signal.

What goes next, I'm driving behind that same police vehicle, press unlock to get everything back to normal, mute (only one press without locking it) and few seconds later signal is locked again without any confirmation. This is already 4 blocks down the road and there's no any false signals stored in that area. How is it possible to follow that same car for another 5 blocks and still have full signal locked? GPS is on.

Is my detector faulty or this is normal for 360c?

It's just over a year old with X band off, K and Ka ON, all auto lock settings are off and I do it manually, not using segmentation for K and Ka. Firmware 1.8, tried reinstalling it trough the app, reset all settings but nothing changes. This isn't isolated incident.

Sometimes I'm spending more time looking at the display than the road I'm driving on since I don't trust it. Coming from 9 years of using Passport 9500ix which I still use in my truck 360c is a bit disappointment.

Also 360c keeps forgetting already locked false locations in 2 or 3 days after they've been manually locked while on the other hand 9500ix remembers stuff I locked 5 years ago.

I hope someone can help with this problem because overall I like the detector but this stuff is scary.
I have 4 year warranty on it from the store where it's bought (I'm in Canada) in case this is hardware related. Also this locking on it's own started about 3 months ago or at least that's when it was noticed for the first time while forgetting already locked false signals was from the day one.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 12th, 2019
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,641
Default

Lockouts and unlocks can only be performed successfully on stationary radar sources as opposed to mutes which can track moving signals as long as they are continuously present. You cannot unlock a moving police car as its lockout location is not fixed.

If you have a stationary lockout and a second source on the same frequency is encountered it should provide an audio alert to the second unlocked source. At least this is they way it used to work as I best recall.

Locked sources obviously should not unlock themselves immediately (as opposed to the slower AutoUnlearn process) with the exception of manual laser lockouts which just do not reliably hold for some reason. Your 360c should act like your 9500ix as respects lockouts and if it does not, then sounds like something is amiss. Is your RD getting a clear view of the sky for its GPS as it's mount causes it to be a bit more recessed into the cabin as opposed to the 9500ix which actually touchs the windshield.

You may want to try an update all software command found under DT Pro's Device Tab using a USB cable to reinstall 1.8 to see if perhaps it got corrupted as what you describe is definitely not normal. I know you said you tried reinstalling it "through the app" but it was not clear whether it was the complete software overwrite which only available under the DT Pro Device Tab.

Last edited by poolmon; May 12th, 2019 at 10:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 12th, 2019
Butcher318 Butcher318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,991
Default

You might be misinterpreting what is going on there. Many users run a detector with autolearn and never experience a real signal locked out. I would keep running it, let it learn, and then you can get more familiar with the unit.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 12th, 2019
user05 user05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
Lockouts and unlocks can only be performed successfully on stationary radar sources as opposed to mutes which can track moving signals as long as they are continuously present. You cannot unlock a moving police car as its lockout location is not fixed.

If you have a stationary lockout and a second source on the same frequency is encountered it should provide an audio alert to the second unlocked source. At least this is they way it used to work as I best recall.

Locked sources obviously should not unlock themselves immediately (as opposed to the slower AutoUnlearn process) with the exception of manual laser lockouts which just do not reliably hold for some reason. Your 360c should act like your 9500ix as respects lockouts and if it does not, then sounds like something is amiss. Is your RD getting a clear view of the sky for its GPS as it's mount causes it to be a bit more recessed into the cabin as opposed to the 9500ix which actually touchs the windshield.

You may want to try an update all software command found under DT Pro's Device Tab using a USB cable to reinstall 1.8 to see if perhaps it got corrupted as what you describe is definitely not normal. I know you said you tried reinstalling it "through the app" but it was not clear whether it was the complete software overwrite which only available under the DT Pro Device Tab.

If I mute moving signal, arrow is active and signal screen is fully lit (everything is the same but without sound). That lasts for about 5 seconds following the same car and moving signal gets locked (arrow disappears and signal on screen gets dimmed) without me doing anything to it and no any other sounds or display confirmation which happens when I manually lock the signal (I have voice on as well)

I tried driving around the same area without any false signals locked and if I mute it it stays muted and for any extra signal it beeps and shows it. This locking scenario happens only if something is already stored.
I just got back from the drive and tested area with 3 false signals coming one after another, manually locked the first one and other 2 got locked on their own without any notice or confirmation. The only indicator is to look at the screen.

As for locked signals unlocking on it's own or forgetting them usually happens if I don't drive the car for 2 or 3 days. It doesn't forget all of them, more like 40% and it acts like they were never locked. All stationary signals known for years.

Yes I did re-update using USB cable and DT Pro tool Device tab. Message said I already have the latest Firmware but it did erase bunch of stuff and reinstall.

Detector sits low on the windshield, gps speed doesn't lag.

Thank you for clarifying, sounds like its faulty and I"ll take it in for warranty repair.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 12th, 2019
user05 user05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butcher318 View Post
You might be misinterpreting what is going on there. Many users run a detector with autolearn and never experience a real signal locked out. I would keep running it, let it learn, and then you can get more familiar with the unit.
No autolearn here, it was disabled the first week when it locked real photo radar location I drove by 3 times in a row. At that time they've used standard K band signal.

With my luck, 3 months after buying 360c, my city gets MultaRadar instead of old school photo radar. Now the only option from Escort is Redline, there goes another 900CAD...

On the other note, even if I used autolearn I don't think it should lock moving signal, the real one, police vehicle right in front of me while I'm following it. Different frequency than the stationary signal and at full blast.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 13th, 2019
Esc0rtFan's Avatar
Esc0rtFan Esc0rtFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Default

If you have locked out a door or other source and the Cops frequency is close to the same this can in theory happen. It doesn't happen often and good news is, where ever you have locked out a stationary false you probably aren't going to be speeding in that area anyway. The risk far out weighs what will happen if you don't use lockouts . I would not worry about it unless you go 15 or 20 over through strip malls and through stop lights, which if you do , you have bigger issues. lol
__________________
I use the following Escort Products

Escort Redline EX
Max360c with wifi
M1 Dash cam with both detectors
Escort Live
ZR5 Shifters
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 13th, 2019
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user05 View Post
As for locked signals unlocking on it's own or forgetting them usually happens if I don't drive the car for 2 or 3 days. It doesn't forget all of them, more like 40% and it acts like they were never locked. All stationary signals known for years.
This appears to be a definite issue, as time should not come into play on lockouts. I have found similar curious behavior on the manual laser lockout side, but definitely not with radar lockouts. Known stationary radar lockouts should only AutoUnlock if you pass them several times and they are continuously not present due to either being turned off or a frequency shift due to weather/temperature changes. What you are describing sounds different from this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 13th, 2019
user05 user05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esc0rtFan View Post
If you have locked out a door or other source and the Cops frequency is close to the same this can in theory happen. It doesn't happen often and good news is, where ever you have locked out a stationary false you probably aren't going to be speeding in that area anyway. The risk far out weighs what will happen if you don't use lockouts . I would not worry about it unless you go 15 or 20 over through strip malls and through stop lights, which if you do , you have bigger issues. lol

My city is polluted with false signals, photoradars and cops I wouldn't be surprised if they start using X band radar just for fun, I'm sure revenue would go up a lot.
The only reason X band is off is because detector was annoying with more false signals unlocked over the time. I can't say it's picking up that much more than 9500ix but at least with ix you lock them once and it never comes back again and if real signal gets detected in the same area it gives me warning.

I like having a comfort of knowing if police is around me. Always driving responsibly and if detector goes off have a quick look and adjust my speed which is usually 10mph over and in this part of the country that is a ticket.


Here's latest example from last night. About a mile long stretch of the road, I'm coming from one end going trough already locked false signal location. Like always lately I'm looking at the display and suddenly here comes another K band full signal and it's already locked without a warning. Looked up, cop was over a half a mile ahead driving towards me. I wasn't stopped, moving along and already out of the false signal area but the real signal is still locked and he's also moving this whole time. Press unlock and detector is normal, hit mute, it's still good. 3 seconds later signal is locked on it's own again and we're both still moving.

Would you call this a cop being close to false signal in frequency or gps location? Sounds like everything in 1 mile radius will get locked on it's own and I don't even use auto locks.

If I didn't look at the display I would not know police was coming my way until it would be too late. It would be better if RD didn't detect that signal at all because this way it did but I didn't know about it without visual check.

What's the point of having RD if it won't alert me? I didn't pay $1000 for the annoying gadget which I'd have to mute every 3 or 4 blocks, that would be scenario if I didn't lock any of the locations. If I wanted that I would spend $300 on some cheap brand.


Forgot to say in previous reply, auto learn doesn't work for me since police likes to use different parking spots and sit there. From my experience everything stationary but Ka band will get locked after 3 passes and Ka band in my area is mostly on the Hwy.

I'm sorry for long posts again, I'm far from being satisfied customer. Even a year after it's hard to justify spending that much money on something that doesn't deliver.

Last edited by flylow7f39; May 16th, 2019 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 15th, 2019
Esc0rtFan's Avatar
Esc0rtFan Esc0rtFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user05 View Post
My city is polluted with false signals, photoradars and cops I wouldn't be surprised if they start using X band radar just for fun, I'm sure revenue would go up a lot.
The only reason X band is off is because detector was annoying with more false signals unlocked over the time. I can't say it's picking up that much more than 9500ix but at least with ix you lock them once and it never comes back again and if real signal gets detected in the same area it gives me warning.

I like having a comfort of knowing if police is around me. Always driving responsibly and if detector goes off have a quick look and adjust my speed which is usually 10mph over and in this part of the country that is a ticket.


Here's latest example from last night. About a mile long stretch of the road, I'm coming from one end going trough already locked false signal location. Like always lately I'm looking at the display and suddenly here comes another K band full signal and it's already locked without a warning. Looked up, cop was over a half a mile ahead driving towards me. I wasn't stopped, moving along and already out of the false signal area but the real signal is still locked and he's also moving this whole time. Press unlock and detector is normal, hit mute, it's still good. 3 seconds later signal is locked on it's own again and we're both still moving.

Would you call this a cop being close to false signal in frequency or gps location? Sounds like everything in 1 mile radius will get locked on it's own and I don't even use auto locks.

If I didn't look at the display I would not know police was coming my way until it would be too late. It would be better if RD didn't detect that signal at all because this way it did but I didn't know about it without visual check.

What's the point of having RD if it won't alert me? I didn't pay $1000 for the annoying gadget which I'd have to mute every 3 or 4 blocks, that would be scenario if I didn't lock any of the locations. If I wanted that I would spend $300 on some cheap brand.


Forgot to say in previous reply, auto learn doesn't work for me since police likes to use different parking spots and sit there. From my experience everything stationary but Ka band will get locked after 3 passes and Ka band in my area is mostly on the Hwy.

I'm sorry for long posts again, I'm far from being satisfied customer. Even a year after it's hard to justify spending that much money on something that doesn't deliver.
Being a detector user comes with certain thing we learn to adapt to and deal with. It's the nature of the beast.

Give it some time. If you continue being annoyed and unsatisfied you may decide using a detector isn't for you.
__________________
I use the following Escort Products

Escort Redline EX
Max360c with wifi
M1 Dash cam with both detectors
Escort Live
ZR5 Shifters

Last edited by flylow7f39; May 16th, 2019 at 09:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 15th, 2019
user05 user05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esc0rtFan View Post
Being a detector user comes with certain thing we learn to adapt to and deal with. It's the nature of the beast.

Give it some time. If you continue being annoyed and unsatisfied you may decide using a detector isn't for you.
Great advice, thank you for your help

Got the detector back this morning, they said everything is normal. This happens because 360c is designed to be quiet, it will lock more signals on it's own (pretty much the whole K band in the area of previous gps lockout) so user doesn't get interrupted.

What a joke.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.