Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > Detector Tools & Detector Tools Pro

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 8th, 2018
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,170
Exclamation Detector Tools Pro (PC) updated to v2.3.3.17

Detector Tools Pro (PC) has been updated to v2.3.3.17 with the following changes:
- Added “Update All” feature which forces all components to be updated with the latest software
- Updated the driver
- Various bug fixes

Importantly note that Detector Tools Pro includes an optional driver install at the end of the installation process
- Windows 10 users should leave the box unchecked
- Windows 7 users should check the box

Windows 10 users experiencing Detector Tools Pro issues:
- Uninstall Detector Tools Pro
- If presented with an option to remove drivers then choose to remove drivers
- Install the latest Detector Tools Pro available from our website and be sure that the "Install Drivers" box is unchecked
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 8th, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,475
Default

Just curious as to why the Main Screen's "Software Update" is just not just made to execute an "Update All" command so that the separate/nested "Update All" can be eliminated entirely, avoiding any confusion in BOTH DT & DT Pro?

It may take a bit longer to Update All vs Update Software, but that time and number of such Software updates (vs Defender updates) is negligible. When I updated my MAX with the new IVT release I inadvertently used the simple Update Software which did not work properly yet the RD displayed the updated version number.

Most customers (I'm venturing a guess) will not be following the Forum to know about the Update All, and will just periodically hit the Software Update button to check for any updates. This can cause an incomplete update while the RD shows it's complete.

This single unified button could also save a lot of possible issue related feedback of faulty installed updates.

Just curious why not combine the two . . .

Last edited by poolmon; August 8th, 2018 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 8th, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,475
Default

1. IMPORTANT
It should be noted that the "Update All" in the latest version of DT Pro is under a new Header labeled "DEVICE". There is no separate Tab labeled "Advanced" in DT Pro as there is in DT.
Accordingly, I reiterate that it would be nice to just make the main screen's Update Software button perform an Update All, as you have to know these different Update nuances.

2. CURRENT software.
If we loaded the 360c's v1.5 software with the old DT Pro's single Update Software button, do we need to reinstall it with Update All (as was the case with the MAX/MAXII updates)?

Last edited by poolmon; August 8th, 2018 at 04:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 9th, 2018
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
2. CURRENT software.
If we loaded the 360c's v1.5 software with the old DT Pro's single Update Software button, do we need to reinstall it with Update All (as was the case with the MAX/MAXII updates)?
If Detector Tools and Detector Tools Pro says that your device is up to date, then you do not need to use Update All.

If your MAX/MAX II was not fully updated, then Detector Tools should not have informed you that it was up to date. Regardless of the displayed master software version number.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 9th, 2018
poolmon poolmon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscortRadar View Post
If Detector Tools and Detector Tools Pro says that your device is up to date, then you do not need to use Update All.

If your MAX/MAX II was not fully updated, then Detector Tools should not have informed you that it was up to date. Regardless of the displayed master software version number.
Is there any downside to always using Update All for all updates?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 9th, 2018
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
Is there any downside to always using Update All for all updates?
It takes longer and the potential for something to go awry during the update process is greater.
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 10th, 2018
iRadar's Avatar
iRadar iRadar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, RF
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poolmon View Post
Just curious as to why the Main Screen's "Software Update" is just not just made to execute an "Update All" command so that the separate/nested "Update All" can be eliminated entirely, avoiding any confusion in BOTH DT & DT Pro?

It may take a bit longer to Update All vs Update Software, but that time and number of such Software updates (vs Defender updates) is negligible. When I updated my MAX with the new IVT release I inadvertently used the simple Update Software which did not work properly yet the RD displayed the updated version number.

Most customers (I'm venturing a guess) will not be following the Forum to know about the Update All, and will just periodically hit the Software Update button to check for any updates. This can cause an incomplete update while the RD shows it's complete.

This single unified button could also save a lot of possible issue related feedback of faulty installed updates.

Just curious why not combine the two . . .
My DTP the next time you turn himself announced the update and offered an upgrade. Win 10

Last edited by iRadar; August 10th, 2018 at 05:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 10th, 2018
wanderer1 wanderer1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: American living in Flor-i-dah
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, i tried this "update all" 2.3.3.17 on windows 10, DTP / x80 ,andriod kit kat/LG - straight talk -trac fone and now on live app BT on phone appears to no longer connect and stays gray no matter what I tried. I left EL on phone and drove around to see if anything would change. EL seems to be connected on phone and shows traffic pins,ect and MPH/speed limit but still gray BT on x80 and no speeds showing. Phone says BT not connected/does not even show x80 , BUT traffic/MPH still is working.

I tried several times to redownload v22317 but will not fix this problem so I called customer support and she said to use DT non-pro but it shows I have a 9500ix and will do nothing. I am so lost on what to try next, HELP.
__________________
Tried almost all brands of detectors over the years, Escort won. Have owned original CM Escort w/mute stick, original Passport,Escort DSP (all time favorite,metal case,unreal range), Solo 5 battery pwr (I think),Passport 7500 (crap KA) ,Passport 8500 (better KA),Passport 8500 x50 (best KA), Passport x80 (not too bad), and currently run an Escort IX (the best I own at present)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old August 11th, 2018
wanderer1 wanderer1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: American living in Flor-i-dah
Posts: 16
Default

I read on this forum somewhere that when you do a detector tools update, it deletes all info from detector and completely reloads everything new including current update. What went wrong? Does anyone know what to do next.
__________________
Tried almost all brands of detectors over the years, Escort won. Have owned original CM Escort w/mute stick, original Passport,Escort DSP (all time favorite,metal case,unreal range), Solo 5 battery pwr (I think),Passport 7500 (crap KA) ,Passport 8500 (better KA),Passport 8500 x50 (best KA), Passport x80 (not too bad), and currently run an Escort IX (the best I own at present)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old August 11th, 2018
wanderer1 wanderer1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: American living in Flor-i-dah
Posts: 16
Default

Bottom line, everything works on phone EL except device settings (dark) and it will not let me "mark" falsing locations. Detector: BT will not light up, posted and car speed will not show (Even though it shows on phone), but still shows BT icon and volts. This is last post from me on this problem until someone replys.
__________________
Tried almost all brands of detectors over the years, Escort won. Have owned original CM Escort w/mute stick, original Passport,Escort DSP (all time favorite,metal case,unreal range), Solo 5 battery pwr (I think),Passport 7500 (crap KA) ,Passport 8500 (better KA),Passport 8500 x50 (best KA), Passport x80 (not too bad), and currently run an Escort IX (the best I own at present)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2018 Escort Inc.