Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Detector Accessories > Power Cords

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default My Smartcord Live failed firmware update then stopped powering after 1 day

I have a Passport Max1. A little under a year. The day before yesterday evening, I got a SmartcordLive. I registered it (it shorted me three months of my Premium Live service but I have emailed CS about that ). I drove around with it and it worked fine. That was Friday. Saturday I drove it some more. Saturday evening, I checked the firm ware with detector tools. DT is on the latest version. I have a Mac. My Max was up to date. Next I put my Smartcord Live in. the firm ware failed to update twice. Didn’t think a big deal of it. Monday I’ll be at a windows computer, so I thought that would do the trick.
Sunday (Today) I had to drive, so I grabbed the max and SML, plugged it up. The cord is getting power, but it’s not powering my max. I figured maybe it was the firm ware. Tried to update the firm ware again. This time it worked. Went back to my car. Same thing. Am I doing something wrong? YES, I hit the power button too.

Video: https://youtu.be/mmM0XiVuacE

>EDIT: things i have noticed just now:

even tho the lights are on the Smartcord Live (SCL), the usb port is not putting out power

the SCL lights up when pulled into the cig lighter, even if the max is not connected

when the SCL is plugged into the cig lighter, the green power cuts on...then immediately the red alert light turns on and the green light turns blue and they STAY on.<

I’m trying, Escort, I am. I’m trying to overlook or resolve the issues I’m having with Live, but now I have this issue. I have a Mac computer and a Droid phone. Those seem to be the two platforms that aren’t given the same amount of attention as their counterparts as far as Detector Tools and Escort Live goes.

Last edited by UtilityBelt70mph; March 22nd, 2015 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 22nd, 2015
Bigwill41's Avatar
Bigwill41 Bigwill41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Navasota, Texas
Posts: 493
Send a message via AIM to Bigwill41 Send a message via MSN to Bigwill41
Default

Looks like it stuck in update mode

Maybe reset the max

To restore PASSPORT Max to its original factory

Settings, press and hold SEN and BRT while

turning the power on. A “Restored” message

will display, acknowledging the reset.
__________________
Escort Redline
Escort 9500I
Escort 9500IX
Escort 8500 X50 Blue
Escort Passport SC55
Beltronics STi Driver
Valentine One 3.872
Whistler Pro-78SE (Where is the filter on this thing)

My Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/Wellmann41


K-Band Radar Unit:
*Knock Knock...*
9500ci: *Who's there?*
K-band Radar Unit: *Quick...*
9500ci: *Quick who?*
K-Band Radar Unit: *Quick Trigger YOU!!!*
9500ci: *Sorry, don't know you...* (And remains silent).

Last edited by Bigwill41; March 22nd, 2015 at 08:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigwill41 View Post
Looks like it stuck in update modem

Maybe reset the max
just tried that. no dice. things i have noticed just now:

even tho the lights are on the SCL, the usb port is not putting out power

the SML lights up when pulled into the cig lighter, even if the max is not connected

when the SCL is plugged into the cig lighter, the green power cuts on...then immediately the red alert light turns on and the green light turns blue and they STAY on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 22nd, 2015
leesrt leesrt is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 737
Default

I don't know about the EL power cord but does it have a fuse?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leesrt View Post
I don't know about the EL power cord but does it have a fuse?
yep, both cords have fuses. I don't think it's the fuse, because the lights are illuminating. one problem that seems to be is that my SCL lights are both "constantly on" ...(see w hat i did there? haha)

Trying to do my part and contribute to the EL cloud. I was planning on a road trip too. this is a bummer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2015
Bigwill41's Avatar
Bigwill41 Bigwill41 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Navasota, Texas
Posts: 493
Send a message via AIM to Bigwill41 Send a message via MSN to Bigwill41
Default

Have you try it reset it
__________________
Escort Redline
Escort 9500I
Escort 9500IX
Escort 8500 X50 Blue
Escort Passport SC55
Beltronics STi Driver
Valentine One 3.872
Whistler Pro-78SE (Where is the filter on this thing)

My Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/Wellmann41


K-Band Radar Unit:
*Knock Knock...*
9500ci: *Who's there?*
K-band Radar Unit: *Quick...*
9500ci: *Quick who?*
K-Band Radar Unit: *Quick Trigger YOU!!!*
9500ci: *Sorry, don't know you...* (And remains silent).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 22nd, 2015
leesrt leesrt is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 737
Default

I would still pull the fuse because the fuse may be for the power being fed to the detector.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigwill41 View Post
Have you try it reset it

reset the max? yes.....unless there is a way to reset the SCL. I don't know how to do that. i've tried holding both buttons hoping that worked. I don't see anything about resetting the cord in my instruction manual. is there a way to reset the cord?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leesrt View Post
I would still pull the fuse because the fuse may be for the power being fed to the detector.
oh ok. well I think these things are designed to only have escort pull the fuse. I was looking at it. guess i'll hit up chat support tomorrow and see. I want to make sure I don't void anything by opening it.

sucks even talking about opening it, i have used the thing for a full 3 hours yet.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 22nd, 2015
UtilityBelt70mph UtilityBelt70mph is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigwill41 View Post
Have you try it reset it
yes i have reset the max to factory settings
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2018 Escort Inc.