Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > Passport iQ

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 11th, 2014
erikkarma erikkarma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Default Mute button doesn't work?

When I get an alert, sometimes the mute button doesn't turn it off. The button will show the sound muted on the screen but the volume is still at full blast. Anyone know how to fix this?
  #2  
Old December 15th, 2014
erikkarma erikkarma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Default

Anybody?
  #3  
Old December 15th, 2014
Krazy-K's Avatar
Krazy-K Krazy-K is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Down North
Posts: 1,169
Default

Sounds like it will need service.
  #4  
Old December 16th, 2014
poulette73 poulette73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 255
Default

Did it work before ?

Have you tried to activate the mute by touching the screen, instead of the button on the smartcord ? (just to try)

It was for what type of alert or band ?
From memory, the mute function does not work for all kinds of bands : it's ok for K and KA but I have a doubt for the KU band and Laser alerts...
Or so I confused with storing false alerts which doesn't work with some alarms.
__________________
Escort Passport iQ rev 2.8.2 (20120912.1)

Last edited by poulette73; December 16th, 2014 at 04:02 PM.
  #5  
Old December 16th, 2014
smokinu454's Avatar
smokinu454 smokinu454 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 1,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poulette73 View Post
Did it work before ?

Have you tried to activate the mute by touching the screen, instead of the button on the smartcord ? (just to try)

It was for what type of alert or band ?
From memory, the mute function does not work for all kinds of bands : it's ok for K and KA but I have a doubt for the KU band and Laser alerts...
Or so I confused with storing false alerts which doesn't work with some alarms.
I believe you are thinking of storing false alerts, false KA alerts cannot be stored at all, x and k will store via auto learn or manually, laser can be locked out manually only. mute should work for all bands.
__________________
2005 2500HD Duramax (EFI Live Via Punisher Perf.)
Escort 9500CI w/ triple LSPs 2/5/6/8 on TSR/RDR OFF
Escort Redline 2/5/6/8 on TSR/RDR OFF
Escort Passport MAX2
Escort Redline (wife's car)
LIVE DW
Mobius Dashcam
RX65 S7 (Sold)
8500 X50 s7 Rev. 5 (Sold) 2005
9500IX (passed along to my old man) 2011
ZR3 laser shifters 2005 (SOLD)
QI45 (SOLD) 2010
Decatur Gen II 35.5 KA
Kustom PL2
Bushnell Speedster III
Laser Interceptor laser tester
  #6  
Old December 16th, 2014
smokinu454's Avatar
smokinu454 smokinu454 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 1,257
Default

I have never used an IQ but can you mute alerts by touching the screen. I know I can mute LIVE alerts by touching my phone screen. If you can, I would see if you have the same result doing that, that you have when using the button on the cord. if mute is really not working; it sounds like your unit will need to be serviced.
__________________
2005 2500HD Duramax (EFI Live Via Punisher Perf.)
Escort 9500CI w/ triple LSPs 2/5/6/8 on TSR/RDR OFF
Escort Redline 2/5/6/8 on TSR/RDR OFF
Escort Passport MAX2
Escort Redline (wife's car)
LIVE DW
Mobius Dashcam
RX65 S7 (Sold)
8500 X50 s7 Rev. 5 (Sold) 2005
9500IX (passed along to my old man) 2011
ZR3 laser shifters 2005 (SOLD)
QI45 (SOLD) 2010
Decatur Gen II 35.5 KA
Kustom PL2
Bushnell Speedster III
Laser Interceptor laser tester
  #7  
Old December 17th, 2014
poulette73 poulette73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinu454 View Post
I have never used an IQ but can you mute alerts by touching the screen .../... If you can, I would see if you have the same result doing that, that you have when using the button on the cord.
Yes, this is what I suggested at the beginning of my post above.

Maybe your smartcord is down ?

Another tip to try : flash the firmware again using Detector Tools => this is going to fully upgrade the sofware part of your iQ...
... in case
__________________
Escort Passport iQ rev 2.8.2 (20120912.1)
  #8  
Old December 18th, 2014
erikkarma erikkarma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for the tips- I'll try that. On a positive note, the IQ saved me a Ka band ticket yesterday with some cops hiding on a side street running radar. Would've gotten me 20mph over PSL in a place with a ridiculously low limit.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.