Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > Passport iQ

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 12th, 2017
HughH HughH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default Unable to access the "Settings" button!

Over the years, I've need to re-calibrate the screen on my iQ since the point of impact would change from the point of aim over a short time.

This time, the "Settings" button refuses to engage. Clicking anywhere on "Settings" causes large "Go To" button underneath it to be activated. I am pressing the screen with the tip of a 5.56 round so the area of impact is tiny. Even I tap the very top of the "Settings" button, the "Go To" engages. Clicking within the thin area of touch screen between the top of the "Settings" button and the screen bezel accomplishes nothing.

I tried multiple hardware resets with the good old paperclip but I am stumped!

Does anyone have any ideas or does sound like an issue that's going to need the iQ to take a little trip to Ohio?

P.S. Dear Escort Radar Customer Service forum rep, please tell your IT guys to please renew the SSL certificate for info.notice.escortradar.com
My security software is screaming at me when I visit the main website to look at new detectors.
  #2  
Old February 13th, 2017
poulette73 poulette73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 255
Default

Hello Hugh,

It is a vicious circle if it's no longer possible to access the "Settings" button...




The "Restore" button (factory reset) is only available on the second settings screen :



And the "Calibration" option only on the last screen :




I think using a paper clip to make a hard reset will not solve this problem.
This function is only used to reboot Passport iQ when it's blocked or no longer responds, but doesn't reset any parameter.
Extract from the documentation :


My idea, but this is only a hypothesis, is to let the iQ totally discharge in battery mode.
Do not power it with smartcord and wait until it no longer starts at all.
Then when the battery is completely discharged, reconnect it again with the smartcord and then turn it on.
Maybe it will restart as at a factory reset, and you will need to set all parameters again, including calibration.
__________________
Escort Passport iQ rev 2.8.2 (20120912.1)
  #3  
Old February 14th, 2017
HughH HughH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Default

I just turned it on and will wait for the battery to die then power it up from scratch. I'm not holding my breath though.

By the way..... I have a very early production model. When was Bluetooth added?

  #4  
Old February 15th, 2017
poulette73 poulette73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HughH View Post
By the way..... I have a very early production model. When was Bluetooth added?
I have too a very early production model on which I flashed each new version.

Bluetooth has not been fully implemented, it was under development.
If iQ had continued his career I think we would have had it ... But the project has been stopped for several years now.
The pairing goes into search mode but doesn't see any phone, I'm not even sure that the hardware is actually equipped with a bluetooth chip.
My software is a modified version that I completely hacked.
__________________
Escort Passport iQ rev 2.8.2 (20120912.1)
  #5  
Old March 17th, 2017
Butcher318 Butcher318 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HughH View Post
Over the years, I've need to re-calibrate the screen on my iQ since the point of impact would change from the point of aim over a short time.

This time, the "Settings" button refuses to engage. Clicking anywhere on "Settings" causes large "Go To" button underneath it to be activated. I am pressing the screen with the tip of a 5.56 round so the area of impact is tiny. Even I tap the very top of the "Settings" button, the "Go To" engages. Clicking within the thin area of touch screen between the top of the "Settings" button and the screen bezel accomplishes nothing.

I tried multiple hardware resets with the good old paperclip but I am stumped!

Does anyone have any ideas or does sound like an issue that's going to need the iQ to take a little trip to Ohio?

P.S. Dear Escort Radar Customer Service forum rep, please tell your IT guys to please renew the SSL certificate for info.notice.escortradar.com
My security software is screaming at me when I visit the main website to look at new detectors.
I hope you can get it working since this unit has been discontinued. There is also no longer any support or updates for it and I don't think Escort will even service or repair one. You will have to call and check and see if they do still repair them.

Last edited by Butcher318; March 17th, 2017 at 12:09 AM.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2017 Escort Inc.