Escort Radar Forum  

Go Back   Escort Radar Forum > Windshield Radar Detectors > Passport iQ

Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 11th, 2014
moemoneymoeprbs moemoneymoeprbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default Passport IQ always silent

I recently got the passport Iq as a gift from my uncle who got it from a friend. he says that he has never tried it before and i got it brand new sealed in the box. i got it about 3 weeks ago and it has never made a single noise. Not at a gas station, police radar, speed sign, speed camera, etc. The only thing i see is the gray and green ribbon and its currently on auto. its updated to the max and i have k, ka, and x band on and still no response. Volume is also on full. My concern is that the radar was bought quite a while ago and i dont think its still covered by warranty. Please let me know if any of you have witnessed this issue and know the cure. thanks
  #2  
Old September 12th, 2014
poulette73 poulette73 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 255
Default

Hi,

Do you check the settings : if K, KA, and X bands are enabled ?

When you're going in specs mode viewing : do you see some graph bars, even gray ?


You can do a factory reset if needed.
Also you can try to update it and flash the current firmware with Detector Tools.
__________________
Escort Passport iQ rev 2.8.2 (20120912.1)
  #3  
Old September 12th, 2014
moemoneymoeprbs moemoneymoeprbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poulette73 View Post
Hi,

Do you check the settings : if K, KA, and X bands are enabled ?

When you're going in specs mode viewing : do you see some graph bars, even gray ?


You can do a factory reset if needed.
Also you can try to update it and flash the current firmware with Detector Tools.
Yea all my bands are on and I updated to 2.8.2 with a couple resets in the middle and it works now but is ver weak. It waits until I am right in front of a cop to ring. Also what if I go past a gas station and it autolearns that it's a false detection. Will it not ring after the autolearns and what if there is a cop lasering me at the station. Will ring then? Thanks
  #4  
Old September 12th, 2014
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,175
Default

Hi moemoneymoeprbs -

Asking a question, does your windshield have any tinting? If so, would you know if the tinting contains an metallic content? This might explain why the iQ isn't alerting you until you are very close to the LEO.

Additionally, be mindful that the iQ reduces its sensitivity when running at speeds below 50 mph if you are operating it in the "Auto" mode. At speeds above 50 mph, it will operate at it's greatest sensitivity. If you are operating it in the "Auto" mode, try switching to "Highway" mode.

Please refer to the Passport's owner's manual for further information: http://www.escortradar.com/pdf/Passport-iQ_Manual.pdf

Answering your questions about a Cop that has positioned himself at a locked-out location:
  • If a cop is at the same location, but uses a different band, the iQ will still alert you.
  • If a cop is at the same location, and using exactly the same band, the signal will usually be at a different frequency, so the iQ will still alert you.
  • In the unlikely situation that the cop is at the same location using the same band and operating at the *exact* frequency, the LEO"s signal will be much stronger and you'll find that the iQ will alert you further out than the auto-learned location, so it will alert you.

Best wishes!
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Thinkware F750 (backup: DOD LS430W)

Last edited by TBNTX; September 12th, 2014 at 11:21 AM.
  #5  
Old September 12th, 2014
moemoneymoeprbs moemoneymoeprbs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Default

ok one last question, do you believe that the iq is as good or better than the 9500ix radar detecting wise? I read some places that the 9500ix has better range but id like to have confirmation. thanks
  #6  
Old September 12th, 2014
TBNTX's Avatar
TBNTX TBNTX is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 6,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moemoneymoeprbs View Post
ok one last question, do you believe that the iq is as good or better than the 9500ix radar detecting wise? I read some places that the 9500ix has better range but id like to have confirmation. thanks
I afraid that I can't answer that, moemoneymoeprbs, because I don't own an iQ, and I have no real-world comparisons between the two. I'll have to defer to others who have tried both the iQ and a 9500ix. But that said, the iQ and the 9500ix share much of the same technology, and my earlier reply is based upon my ownership of a 9500ix.
__________________


Countermeasures:

Radar Detectors: Max 360c, Redline EX, Max 360, & others plus Escort Live!
LIDAR Defense: Escort LSP + Veil G4
Phone: Apple iPhone 6s (128 GB) + AT&T
CB: Midland 75-822
HAM: Yaesu FT-7900R, Baofeng UV-5R, UV-3R
Scanner: GRE PSR-500 (Triple-trunking)
GPS: iPhone 6s with GPS Plus and Waze
Dashcam: Thinkware F750 (backup: DOD LS430W)

Last edited by TBNTX; September 12th, 2014 at 07:02 PM.
  #7  
Old September 16th, 2014
EscortRadar's Avatar
EscortRadar EscortRadar is offline
Official Escort Rep
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15,788
Default

The iQ and 9500ix share the same detector technology, they perform similarly.

Unless your car has a metallic coated, anti-radiation or athermic, windshield then it should be detecting radar from a good distance. Laser is usually point and shoot so many times you will not receive advanced warning of it. If it is detecting radar and getting a GPS signal then it is most probably operating as it should. In Auto mode it will not false alert much. Use Highway mode for maximum detection of all signals if you want to see how well it is detecting falses that have not been stored yet.

AutoLearn stores the frequency and location for false radar alerts. Laser alerts are not store unless you manually store them by pressing the mute button three times while receiving the alert (or by pressing the detector area of the screen three times). Unless police are using radar that is very close to the frequency of the stored false alert then it will alert normally.

Also, be sure to use the power cord with the iQ when using its radar detector features. They are only available when the iQ is plugged into 12VDC power.

If you continue to have issues then try resetting the iQ by pressing the small inset button under the unit. You should see a reset message on the iQ when you press it. If the issues persist then please call us at the number in my signature below to set up servicing your iQ.

Thank you
__________________

Escort Radar customer service is available from 9am-5:30pm Eastern Time Mon-Fri at 1-800-543-1608 or by live chat
  #8  
Old September 16th, 2014
BelsCortFan's Avatar
BelsCortFan BelsCortFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: IN the Back of your Mind
Posts: 1,647
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscortRadar View Post
The iQ and 9500ix share the same detector technology, they perform similarly.

Unless your car has a metallic coated, anti-radiation or athermic, windshield then it should be detecting radar from a good distance. Laser is usually point and shoot so many times you will not receive advanced warning of it. If it is detecting radar and getting a GPS signal then it is most probably operating as it should. In Auto mode it will not false alert much. Use Highway mode for maximum detection of all signals if you want to see how well it is detecting falses that have not been stored yet.

AutoLearn stores the frequency and location for false radar alerts. Laser alerts are not store unless you manually store them by pressing the mute button three times while receiving the alert (or by pressing the detector area of the screen three times). Unless police are using radar that is very close to the frequency of the stored false alert then it will alert normally.

Also, be sure to use the power cord with the iQ when using its radar detector features. They are only available when the iQ is plugged into 12VDC power.

If you continue to have issues then try resetting the iQ by pressing the small inset button under the unit. You should see a reset message on the iQ when you press it. If the issues persist then please call us at the number in my signature below to set up servicing your iQ.

Thank you
Does he even have the RD turned ON???
__________________
Stir-O >Redline-O>RX65 S7>Redline EX =Max 360
  #9  
Old October 17th, 2014
DrDigital DrDigital is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 3
Default

I brought a brand new one a month ago and had the same problem. It was absolutely silent for a few days so I took it back and the replacement one has worked fine ever since.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.