Escort Radar Forum

Escort Radar Forum (http://escortradarforum.com/forums/index.php)
-   MAX 360c (http://escortradarforum.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=74)
-   -   Speed limit not updating (http://escortradarforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19025)

mast3rof0 January 12th, 2020 04:53 PM

Speed limit not updating
 
I recently puchased a 360c and have it connected to my auto's hotspot. When using the radar I noticed my speed shows on the display, but the speed limit for the road continues to show -- .

While uisng Escort Live, I noticed some of the newer roads do not show a speed limit, but many of the older roads show proper speed limits in the app.

Am I missing a setting somewhere?

--cj

Butcher318 January 13th, 2020 08:43 AM

This used to mean either you had no GPS signal or the road you were on was small enough that a speed limit did not show up on the service Escort uses. By chance what kind of wifi does your vehicle use?

mast3rof0 January 13th, 2020 09:31 AM

I have a SQ5 and am using the built-in hotspot. It seems to be working okay as it has been able to successfully update the firmware through it.

I totally understand why it is not showing speed limits in my neighborhood as it is relatively new, but not sure why it wouldn't show on the more established roads and highways.

dbara54 January 13th, 2020 02:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mast3rof0 (Post 152444)
I have a SQ5 and am using the built-in hotspot. It seems to be working okay as it has been able to successfully update the firmware through it.

I totally understand why it is not showing speed limits in my neighborhood as it is relatively new, but not sure why it wouldn't show on the more established roads and highways.

Mine was doing the same thing for weeks after I bought it. PSL worked when on BT but not when on WiFi. All of a sudden it started working. The only thing that was updated on the unit was the data base via WiFi so no clue why it started to work.

mast3rof0 January 14th, 2020 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbara54 (Post 152446)
Mine was doing the same thing for weeks after I bought it. PSL worked when on BT but not when on WiFi. All of a sudden it started working. The only thing that was updated on the unit was the data base via WiFi so no clue why it started to work.

Based on your feedback, I disabled WiFi on the way into work today and the speed limit and OSL started working as expected. I will re-enable wifi on the way home and check for updates.

dbara54 January 14th, 2020 10:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mast3rof0 (Post 152448)
Based on your feedback, I disabled WiFi on the way into work today and the speed limit and OSL started working as expected. I will re-enable wifi on the way home and check for updates.

Good luck but Like I said, I don't know what fixed it, it just started working. I was working with Larry on this so maybe he can shed some light on what is going on.

mast3rof0 January 15th, 2020 03:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dbara54 (Post 152449)
Good luck but Like I said, I don't know what fixed it, it just started working. I was working with Larry on this so maybe he can shed some light on what is going on.

So, I disabled bluetooth and that didn't make a difference, so I contacted Escort. Let's just say, that was an experience in itself. Makes me want to return the RD and go with another vendor.

What was explained to me was that the speed limit will not show when wifi is connected, only bluetooth. What is even more interesting is that wifi takes precedence over bluetooth so as long as wifi is enabled, you will never get speeds to show in the display. But, if you disable wifi to get the radar to work as expected, then the auto-update feature no longer works... Am I missing something?

dbara54 January 15th, 2020 06:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mast3rof0 (Post 152457)
So, I disabled bluetooth and that didn't make a difference, so I contacted Escort. Let's just say, that was an experience in itself. Makes me want to return the RD and go with another vendor.

What was explained to me was that the speed limit will not show when wifi is connected, only bluetooth. What is even more interesting is that wifi takes precedence over bluetooth so as long as wifi is enabled, you will never get speeds to show in the display. But, if you disable wifi to get the radar to work as expected, then the auto-update feature no longer works... Am I missing something?

Wow, I don't think the statement that you will never get PSL while in WiFi is at all right, PSL does work when in WiFi. At least it does on mine now.

EscortRadar January 16th, 2020 10:27 AM

Speed limits are available over Wi-Fi. I will send a reminder about this to our call center. Thanks for letting me know.

There were recently server issues that caused some to not receive speed limits. That has now been corrected.

mast3rof0,
Can you download database updates over Wi-Fi? You can manually try this using the "Wi-Fi Update" option in the detector's preferences menu. Let me know what happens when you try.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2018 Escort Inc.